Miedziana Góra commune is a rural commune, directly bordering Kielce. This fact influences the continuous development of single-family housing which, combined with an extremely favourable climate, results in a successively increasing number of residents.
Miedziana Góra commune, 7 km from the centre of Kielce, is located in the northern part of the Świętokrzyskie Voivodeship. The major part of the area of the commune is a protected natural area with great landscape qualities and a favourable climate. National roads run through the commune: route Kielce – Łódź (No. 74) and route Gdańsk – Rabka (S-7).
The first mention of the village dates back to 1581 and refers to the settlement “from copper mountains”. Copper which was used to cover the roof of Wawel Castle in 1593 came from the Miedziana Góra Mine and in the 19th century coins were minted “from the copper of the country”. In 1787, the mines were visited by King Stanisław August Poniatowski. The red sandstone mined here, known as “Tumlin”, is famous.
Today, everyone can follow the royal footsteps to visit and admire a magnificent technical monument – Blast Furnace Plant in Bobrza with its monumental retaining wall – the heart of the Old Polish Industrial District.
Also noteworthy are the reserves: “Kamienne Kręgi” [Stone Circles] with the remains of a pagan shrine, “Sufraganiec” and picturesque geological exposures, e.g. on Ciosowa Mountain. While in hospitable Miedziana Góra, one cannot fail to visit the “Kielce” circuit – a mecca for motor sport enthusiasts. Two circuits – a small and a large one – host the most important motoring events in the region and the country.